Our Team

Our Team

Walter
Mittelbach

CTO

Walter Mittelbach is the Chief Technology Officer of FAHRENHEIT. He founded SorTech AG, the predecessor of FAHRENHEIT, in 2002. He holds several patents on adsorption technology and, together with his team, won numerous awards for developing efficient and compact adsorption chillers.

Walter Mittelbach laid the foundation for FAHRENHEIT as a researcher at Fraunhofer Institute for Solar Energy Systems (ISE). He studied physics at Graz University and at Free University Berlin.

Matthias
Hoene

CEO

Matthias Hoene has been in charge of leading FAHRENHEIT since 2017. He started his career as a software developer with Trilogy Software in Austin/Texas, and went on to become a project manager with BMW in their logistics division. He then joined McKinsey as a consultant to automotive, aviation, and high-tech clients. In 2010, Matthias Hoene co-founded ZebraMobil GmbH in Munich, the first free-floating car sharing operator in a major city. After selling the car sharing operations of ZebraMobil, he returned to McKinsey to run Horizon360, an internal startup which offers data and standard tools around IT and Digital topics.

Matthias Hoene graduated from ETH Zurich with a degree in Industrial Management and Production Engineering, and a pre-diploma in Mechanical Engineering.

Gregor
Feig

HEAD OF SALES

Gregor Feig is in charge of sales for adsorption chillers. Mr. Feig, who is originally an architect, first joined our company in 2011 as Sales Manager for Southern Germany. In the meantime, he served a stint as Sales Manager for a maker of digital building models and simulations. Prior to joining FAHRENHEIT, he has worked in various sales functions, including in his own business. He started his career as a planner in engineering companies.

Gregor Feig completed his architectural studies at the University for Applied Sciences in Regensburg.

Dr. Ralph
Herrmann

HEAD OF RESEARCH &
DEVELOPMENT

Dr. Ralph Herrmann is in charge of research and development at FAHRENHEIT. Trained as a chemist, Dr. Herrmann dedicated a large part of his professional life to researching and evolving zeolite crystals. He holds numerous patents in this field. Since 2004, he has been applying his expertise at FAHRENHEIT.

Prior to joining FAHRENHEIT, Dr. Herrmann obtained his Ph.D. from the University of Halle and spent several years at the University of Erlangen as a researcher and as a lecturer for chemical engineers.

Dr. Ralph Herrmann

Steffen
Kühnert

TECHNICAL DIRECTOR

Steffen Kühnert is Technical Director at FAHRENHEIT. He joined the company in 2007 as development engineer. From then, he took on responsibility for both product development and manufacturing. Prior to joining FAHRENHEIT, Steffen Kühnert had been working for engineering companies. He started his career by serving seven years in the German armed forces.

Steffen Kühnert completed an apprenticeship as a cutting machine operator and holds a diploma in Mechanical Engineering.

Steffen Kühnert

The FAHRENHEIT
Team.

FAHRENHEIT derives its strength from a highly skilled and motivated team of technicians, developers, scientists, and business experts in Halle and Munich.

Unser Team

Unser Team

Walter
Mittelbach

CTO

Walter Mittelbach hat FAHRENHEIT im Jahre 2002 als SorTech AG gegründet. Als CTO verantwortet er die gesamte Forschung und Produktentwicklung. Er hält zahlreiche Patente rund um Adsorptionstechnik und hat zusammen mit seinem Team eine Vielzahl an Preisen für die Entwicklung effizienter und platzsparender Adsorptionskühlanlagen gewonnen.

Die Grundlagen für FAHRENHEIT hat Walter Mittelbach als Forscher am Fraunhofer-Institut für Solare Energiesysteme (ISE) gelegt. Herr Mittelbach studierte an der Universität Graz und der Freien Universität Berlin und hat einen Abschluss als Diplom-Physiker.

Walter Mittelbach

Matthias
Hoene

CEO

Matthias Hoene leitet die FAHRENHEIT AG seit 2017. Seine berufliche Laufbahn hat er als Softwareentwickler bei Trilogy Software in Austin/Texas begonnen. Nach mehreren Jahren als Projektleiter bei BMW ist er als Berater bei McKinsey eingestiegen. Dort hat er Automobil- und Flugzeughersteller sowie Klienten in High-Tech-Branchen und im Gesundheitswesen beraten. 2010 hat Matthias Hoene die ZebraMobil GmbH in München mitgegründet, den ersten stationsunabhängigen Car-Sharing-Anbieter in einer Großstadt. Nach dem Verkauf des operativen Car-Sharing-Betriebs im Jahr 2013 ist Matthias Hoene zu McKinsey zurückgekehrt, um Horizon360 aufzubauen und zu leiten, ein internes Startup, welches Daten und Software-Tools rund um die IT- und Digital-Beratung anbietet.

Herr Hoene hat Maschinenbau und Betriebs- und Produktionsingenieurwissenschaften an der ETH Zürich studiert.

Matthias Hoene

Gregor
Feig

VERTRIEBSLEITER

Gregor Feig leitet den Vertrieb für Kühlanlagen bei FAHRENHEIT. Herr Feig ist Architekt und trat 2011 in das Unternehmen als Vertriebsmanager für Süddeutschland ein. Zwischenzeitlich war er Vertriebsleiter Deutschland bei einer Firma digitale Gebäudemodelle und Simulationen. Zuvor war er in verschiedenen Unternehmen, darunter seiner eigenen Firma, als Vertriebsexperte tätig. Seine Karriere hat er als Planer in Ingenieurbüros begonnen.

Sein Architekturstudium hat Herr Feig an der Fachhochschule Regensburg absolviert.

Gregor Feig

Dr. Ralph
Herrmann

LEITER FORSCHUNG &
ENTWICKLUNG

Dr. Ralph Herrmann verantwortet bei FAHRENHEIT die Forschung und Entwicklung. Dr. Herrmann ist Chemiker und hat einen Großteil seines Berufslebens der Erforschung und Weiterentwicklung von Zeolithen gewidmet. In diesem Gebiet hält er zahlreiche Patente. Seit 2004 bringt er sein Fachwissen bei FAHRENHEIT ein.

Vor seinem Einstieg bei FAHRENHEIT hat Dr. Herrmann an der Universität Halle promoviert und dann mehrere Jahre an der Universität Erlangen Chemieingenieure ausgebildet und geforscht.

Dr. Ralph Herrmann

Steffen
Kühnert

TECHNISCHER LEITER

Steffen Kühnert ist Technischer Leiter bei FAHRENHEIT. Nach seinem Einstieg im Unternehmen als Entwicklungsingenieur im Jahr 2007 hat er die Verantwortung sowohl für die Produktentwicklung als auch für die Fertigung übernommen. Zuvor war Herr Kühnert in mehreren Ingenieurbüros tätig, nachdem er sieben Jahre bei der Bundeswehr war.

Herr Kühnert hat eine Ausbildung als Zerspanungsmechaniker und ist Diplom-Ingenieur (FH) in Maschinenbau.

Steffen Kühnert

Die
Mannschaft.

Das Unternehmen gewinnt seine Stärke aus einem hochmotivierten Team aus Technikern, Entwicklern, Wissenschaftlern und kaufmännischen Fachleuten an den Standorten Halle und München.